First Annual Open Juried Show
July 13 – Aug 18, 2013

Colborne Art Gallery

The member artists of The Colborne Art Gallery are delighted to be opening up our beautiful Heritage Gallery to fifty-five special guest artists in our inaugural Juried Show.

Our guest Curator James Campbell, Executive Director and Curator of the Visual Arts Centre of Clarington had the challenge of reviewing 188 submitted works in order to select this collection.  The exhibit will showcase an incredibly diverse range of mediums and styles, a tribute to the talents of artists from our region and as far away as Prince Edward Island!

The First Annual Juried Show will run from July 13th to August 18th, 2013.

An opening reception and awards presentation with the artists present was held on Saturday, July 13th from 2-4 pm.

Award Winners Are:

  • Judy Hopkins, Baltimore ON: Best in Show award sponsored by Cramahe Township and presented by Mayor Marc Coombs
  • Susan Vander Wey, Tweed ON: Honourable Mention award sponsored by Ganaraska Art & Framing, Port Hope
  • Norma Keith, Baltimore ON: Honourable Mention award sponsored by The Framed View, Cobourg
  • Michiko Nakamura, Port Hope ON: Honourable Mention award sponsored by Cree Organics, Colborne

Participating artists:

Lindsay Anderson, Christine Bayer, Maria Becker, Mandy Bing, Vernon Cavannah, Frances Clancy, Denise Coker, Graeme Coxon, Chris Cromien, David Doig, Juliane Eckert, Frances Ferdinands, Eric Field, Sylvie Flynn, Marc L. Gagnon, Jeff Gardner, Valerie Jane Geard, Edward Hagedorn, Aleksandra Hawley, Anja Hertle, Margit Hideg, Judy Hopkins, Mary Kahn, Norma Keith, Helen Kennedy, Louise Leclair-Aronson, Wendy Lilly, Dana Mandeville, Lori Maurer, Eileen Menzel, Betsy Miller, Niki Mitz, Nancy Moore, Marie Morawski, Stuart Morley, Michiko Nakamura, Penny Olorenshaw, Judita Pamfil, Sandra Pettit, Anne Plaxton, Pat Purdy, Bev Redden, Valanne Ridgeway, Marcela Rosemberg, Erwin Rummel, Rena Sava, Barbel Smith, Paul Steels, Laurence Stevenson, Jennifer Sutton, Marissa Sweet, Mary Talbot, Susan Vander Way, Elizabeth Wilson, Luanne Young.

Reminder: Unsold artwork must be picked up at the end of the show: Sunday August 18 between 3 and 6 pm or Monday August 19 between 10 am and noon.

Juror’s Statement

James Campbell, Director/Curator, The Visual Arts Centre of Clarington

It was a great pleasure to be involved with the first juried exhibition for the Colborne Art Gallery. More than 150 submissions came to the gallery, many of very impressive quality, making my task a challenging one indeed. Submitted works reflected a captivating diversity, in both subject matter and medium. I believe the resulting show is extremely strong, and I congratulate not only those artists selected, but all who made the courageous decision to submit their works for consideration.

Four very deserving award winners were selected, and several other pieces would also have been very worthy recipients. The Mayor’s award went to Judy Hopkins for her beautiful mixed media on paper, “Daffodils.” With gestural simplicity, the work exudes vitality and joy in subject. Honourable Mentions went to Norma Keith for her stunning photograph, “Northumberland Fields”, to Sue Vander Wey for her superb pastel, and to Michiko Nakamura for her lyrically beautiful porcelain sculpture.

I was particularly impressed with the fact that many artists obviously pushed themselves into new realms with respect to both materials employed, and in subject matter. There were a substantial number of very well realized non-representational works; this is not always the case with juried shows. Again, congratulations to all submitting artist’s, and to the Colborne Art Gallery for a very powerful first ever juried exhibition. I truly hope it becomes an annual event.

– James Campbell, Director/Curator, VAC

Opening Reception:

[nggallery id=40]

Juried Show:

[nggallery id=41]

As part of our partnership with the Township of Cramahe, member artist Irene Osborne has work on display in the main office of the Town Hall in Colborne.


Juried Show